• frontpage-logo
  • NYI-homepage-mobile-logo

  • Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

    Summer, The Donna Summer Musical was a big winnter at the Chita Rivera Awards for Broadway and Off-Broadway shows. (Show Photo)

    Sergio Trujillo and Ariana DeBose put Summer: The Donna Summer the Musical in the spotlight at the The 2018 Chita Rivera Awards for Broadway and Off-Broadway shows. They won awards for best choreography and outstanding female dancer, respectively, making Summer the only show to win two awards.

    Click Here See 14 Photos From the Event!

    Chita Rivera 2018 Musical Theater Awards

    In two other Broadway categories, Carousel and Mean Girls tied for Outstanding Ensemble and Tony Yazbeck won for Outstanding Male Dancer (Prince of Broadway).

    In the Off-Broadway categories, outstanding male and female dancer awards went to Robert Fairchild, Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, and Monica Bill Barnes, One Night Only, respectively.

    The Outstanding Choreography award went to Zach Morris and Jennine Willet for Ghost Light.

    The ceremony also included a number of special awards.

    Actress, dancer, and choreographer Carmen De Lavallade was honored with the second annual Lifetime Achievement Award and iconic composer John Kander received the Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theater as a Composer Award.

    Theater director Harold Prince was presented with the SDC Director Award for Exemplary Collaboration with Choreographers, and Steven Hoggett, who is represented on Broadway this season with Angels in America and Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, received the inaugural Douglas and Ethel Watt Critics Choice Award.

    Nikki Feirt Atkins (Founder and Producing Artistic Director of American Dance Machine for the 21st Century) and Joe Lanteri (Founder and Executive Director of the New York City Dance Alliance Foundation) produced the awards show, with Patricia Watt and Iris Smith. Lanteri also served as director.

    The Chita Rivera Awards celebrate dance and choreographic excellence — past, present and future.

    The awards honor the superb achievement of each nominee, while recognizing the talents and passion of every theatrical choreographer and dancer. Additionally, through education and scholarships, the awards are committed to nurturing future generations, and preserving notable dance history.

    Nominators considered outstanding choreography, featured dancers and ensembles in shows on Broadway and Off Broadway, and outstanding choreography in film. There are separate Nominating Committees for Broadway, Off Broadway and Film. Broadway winners are selected by the Awarding Committee.

    In her own career, Rivera has won two Tony Awards as Best Leading Actress in a Musical and received eight additional Tony nominations. She recently starred in The Visit.

    Check out the list of winners below.

    Chita Rivera Theater Awards 2017-2918; Winners in Bold
    Outstanding Choreography, Broadway
    Camille A. Brown, Once on This Island
    Christopher Gattelli, SpongeBob SquarePants
    Casey Nicholaw, Mean Girls
    Justin Peck, Carousel
    Sergio Trujillo, Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

    Outstanding Ensemble, Broadway
    Carousel (tie)
    Mean Girls (tie)
    Once on This Island
    SpongeBob SquarePants
    Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

    Outstanding Male Dancer, Broadway:
    Norbert Leo Butz, My Fair Lady
    Andrei Chagas, Carousel
    Gavin Lee, SpongeBob SquarePants
    Amar Ramasar, Carousel
    Tony Yazbeck, Prince of Broadway

    Outstanding Female Dancer, Broadway
    Yesenia Ayala, Carousel
    Ariana DeBose, Summer: The Donna Summer Musical
    Hailey Kilgore, Once on This Island
    Katrina Lenk, The Band’s Visit
    Skye Mattox, Carousel
    Ashley Park, Mean Girls
    Brittany Pollack, Carousel

    Outstanding Choreography, Off-Broadway
    Nejla Yatkin, The Boy Who Danced on Air
    Sonya Tayeh, Hundred Days
    Zach Morris & Jennine Willet, Ghost Light
    Chris Bailey, Jerry Springer: The Opera
    Monica Bill Barnes, One Night Only

    Outstanding Female Dancer, Off-Broadway
    Anna Bass, One Night Only
    Monica Bill Barnes, One Night Only
    Elizabeth Carena, Ghost Light
    Tiffany Mann, Jerry Springer: The Opera
    Kenita R. Miller, Bella

    Outstanding Male Dancer, Off-Broadway
    Colin Campbell, Disco Pigs
    Robert Fairchild, Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein
    Troy Iwata, The Boy Who Danced on Air
    Evan Ruggiero, Bastard Jones
    Nikhil Saboo, The Boy Who Danced on Air

    Choreography in Film
    Basmati Blues, Noemie LaFrance and Rajeev, Dimple Ganguly, Vijay Ganguly and Ryan Heffington
    Finding Your Feet, Mark Jennings
    Hello Again, Todd Underwood
    Polina, danser sa vie, Angelin Preljocaj
    The Greatest Showman, Ashley Wallen

    Documentary Choreography
    Step, Directed by Amanda Lipitz
    Bobbi Jene, Directed by Elvira Lind
    Anatomy of a Male Ballet Dancer, Directed by David Barba and James Pellerito