• frontpage-logo
  • NYI-homepage-mobile-logo

  • Gwen Stefani is joined by No Doubt’s Tom Dumont, on guitar, keyboards, Tony Kanal on bass and keyboards and Adrian Young on drums for their first new song in a decade. An audio of “Settle Down” was released today ahead of the song’s video.

    In May, TheImproper reported on the release of the first of a series of short videos leading up to the release Sept. 25 of No Doubt’s album Push & Shove.

    Universal Music mogul Jimmy Iovine hooked the band up with Major Lazer and Jamaican artist Busy Signal for collaborations on some of the album’s tracks. “Settle Down” features a heavy reggae influence from the two artists.

    The music video for the track will premiere simultaneously at 8pm (Eastern) on E! and the band’s Web site and YouTube channel.

    Stefani, Kanal, Young and Dumount will all be featured in the video. They play truck drivers piloting customized rigs to a reunion. Sophie Muller directs; she’s worked with the band extensively in the past.

    The group’s last studio album was 2001’s Rock Steady. The band went on hiatus after that and Stefani concentrated on her solo career with two albums. She also launched two fashion lines.

    The band also reunited in 2009 for a national tour without an album to back up and played mostly their old songs.

    The band’s sixth album will include 12 tracks with the tentative titles: “One More Summer,” “Gravity,” “Settle Down,” “Easy,” “Dreaming the Same Dream,” “Heaven,” “Undercover,” “Psycho,” “Push and Shove,” “Looking Hot,” “Sparkle” and “Undone.”