• frontpage-logo
  • NYI-homepage-mobile-logo

  • Canadian singer Sarah McLachlan is re-emerging from a self-imposed seven-year exile with a new album ahead of the Lilith Fair, the all-female tour she founded, which has become a major international event.

    Judging from the album’s first single “Loving You is Easy,” the most added song on AAA radio, the multi-platinum and Grammy-Award winning singer, songwriter is sticking with the dreamy ballads and soaring vocals that have marked her previous work.

    The album, Laws of Illusion will be released June 15th on Arista Records. The video for her first single was released this week. The album retails for $13.98, but buy it here through the Improper for $9.99 and save 30%.

    The new material was recorded in Montreal and Vancouver with longtime collaborator and producer Pierre Marchand.

    McLachlan performed at the opening ceremony for the Vancouver Winter Olympics and wrote and recorded “One Dream,” for NBC’s Olympics marketing campaign.

    This year, Lilith Fair 2010 features performances by Mary J. Blige, Sheryl Crow, Kelly Clarkson, Erykah Badu, Sugarland, Heart, Norah Jones, Ke$ha, Corinne Bailey Rae, Loretta Lynn, Emmylou Harris and Tegan and Sara.

    McLachlan has produced an unbroken string of gold, platinum, or multi-platinum albums, starting with Touch (1988) and Solace (1991), both gold sellers.

    Her 1994 breakthrough, Fumbling Towards Ecstasy (triple-platinum) was followed by the digitally enhanced multimedia version of The Freedom Sessions (1995, gold).

    Sarah’s landmark fourth album, Surfacing (1997), went eight times platinum and contains two Grammy Award-winning tracks.

    She followed that up with 1999’s triple-platinum Mirrorball containing music from that year’s Lilith Fair tour, and spun off Sarah’s third Grammy-winning performance, as “I Will Remember You” won for Best Female Pop Vocal.

    The double-platinum Afterglow followed in 2003, and Sarah’s most recent release Closer: The Best Of Sarah McLachlan (2008) contained 14 classic tracks two unreleased songs, “U Want Me 2” and “Don’t Give Up On Us.”

    To find out more about Lilith Fair click here for tour details.