• frontpage-logo
  • NYI-homepage-mobile-logo

  • Billy Crudup

    Billy Crudup won the Outer Critics Circle Award for Outstanding Solo Performance. (Photo: Iris Wiener)

    The Outer Critics Circle, an organization of media writers and commentators, awarded outstanding work in the 2017-2018 theater season in New York City. Broadway stars Jenn Colella, Jim Dale, Christine Ebersole and Martha Plimpton were on hand to host and present at the 68th annual ceremony at the Sardi’s Restaurant in Manhattan.

    Harry Potter and the Cursed Child garnered the most wins with six awards. Other big winners were My Fair Lady with five awards, and SpongeBob SquarePants with four awards. Angels in America and Carousel won three awards each.

    Check out photos from the event an the list of winners:

    Outer Circle Critics Awards 2018 (Click Photos to Enlarge!)
    Outer Circle Laurie Metcalf ThumbOuter Circle Lauren Ambrose ThumbOuter Circle Jim Dale Billy CrudupOuter Circle Jim Dale ThumbOuter Circle Glenda Jackson ThumbOuter Circle Ethan Slater ThumbOuter Circle Tiny Fey 2 TthumbOuter Circle Tina Fey ThumbOuter Circle Norbet Leo ButzOuter Circle Nathan Lane ThumbOuter Circle Martha Plimpton ThumbOuter Circle Lindsay MendezOuter Circle Tony KushnerOuter Circle Tina Landau
    Outer Critics Circle 2017-18 Theater Awards

    Outstanding New Broadway Play: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
    Outstanding New Broadway Musical: SpongeBob SquarePants
    Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play: Admissions
    Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical: Desperate Measures
    Outstanding Book of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway): Tina Fey, Mean Girls
    Outstanding Revival of a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway): Angels in America
    Outstanding Revival of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway): My Fair Lady
    Outstanding Director of a Play: John Tiffany, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
    Outstanding Director of a Musical: (Tie) Tina Landau, SpongeBob SquarePants & Bartlett Sher, My Fair Lady
    Outstanding Choreographer: Justin Peck, Carousel
    Outstanding Set Design (Play or Musical): Christine Jones, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
    Outstanding Costume Design (Play or Musical): Catherine Zuber, My Fair Lady
    Outstanding Lighting Design (Play or Musical): Neil Austin, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
    Outstanding Projection Design (Play or Musical): Finn Ross and Ash Woodward, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
    Outstanding Sound Design (Play or Musical): Gareth Fry, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
    Outstanding Orchestrations: Jonathan Tunick, Carousel
    Outstanding Actor in a Play: Andrew Garfield, Angels in America
    Outstanding Actress in a Play: Glenda Jackson, Three Tall Women
    Outstanding Actor in a Musical: Ethan Slater, SpongeBob SquarePants
    Outstanding Actress in a Musical: Lauren Ambrose, My Fair Lady
    Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play: Nathan Lane, Angels in America
    Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play: Laurie Metcalf, Three Tall Women
    Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical: Norbert Leo Butz, My Fair Lady
    Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical: Lindsay Mendez, Carousel
    Outstanding Solo Performance: Billy Crudup, Harry Clarke
    Outstanding New Score (Broadway or Off-Broadway): Jonathan Coulton, David Bowie and Brian Eno, Plain White T’s, T.I., Domani and Lil’C, Yolanda Adams, Steven Tyler & Joe Perry of Aerosmith, Sara Bareilles, Alex Ebert of Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, The Flaming Lips, Lady Antebellum, Cyndi Lauper & Rob Hyman, John Legend, Panic! at the Disco, They Might Be Giants, Andy Paley & Tom Kenny, Derek Drymon, Mark Harrison, Stephen Hillenburg & Blaise Smith, and Tom Kitt, SpongeBob SquarePants

    The John Gassner Award (Presented for an American play, preferably by a new playwright) went to Jocelyn Bioh for School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play