• frontpage-logo
  • NYI-homepage-mobile-logo

  • Adele, Ke$haand Miley Cyrus, join an unlikely assortment of rockers like Maroon 5 and even folk singer Pete Seeger, to contribute songs on Amnesty International’s new Bob Dylan tribute charity album.

    The collection of more than 70 artists honors the human rights organization on its 50th anniversary, although Dylan long ago disavowed the protest music movement and said he was never really a part of it.

    The lineup of singers couldn’t be more diverse musically or generationally for the collection, called Chimes of Freedom: The Songs of Bob Dylan.

    Dylan, himself, sings the cover song, “Chimes of Freedom.”

    All of the singers also cover Dylan songs with Miley, 19, doing a credible job on “You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go.”

    Ke$ha also gave an emotional rendition of Dylan’s 1963 anthem “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright.”

    “There were particular lyrics in the song that you can just tell, once they came out of my mouth – the emotion caught up with me and I just started weeping,” she told Rolling Stone magazine.

    “It’s something that I didn’t plan on, that wasn’t contrived at all. It just sort of happened.”

    Among other groups and singers contributing tunes are Evan Rachel Wood, Sugarland and Darren Criss, My Chemical Romance, Dierks Bentley, Dave Matthews Band and Marianne Faithfull.

    The four-CD collection, with 75 tracks in all, will be released Jan. 24.

    Check out Miley’s contribution and the track list below.

    Chimes of Freedom: The Songs of Bob Dylan Honoring 50 Years of Amnesty International Tracklist:
    Disc 1
    01. Raphael Saadiq – Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat
    02. Patti Smith – Drifter’s Escape
    03. Rise Against – Ballad of Hollis Brown
    04. Tom Morello The Nightwatchman – Blind Willie McTell
    05. Pete Townshend – Corrina, Corrina
    06. Bettye LaVette – Most of the Time
    07. Charlie Winston – This Wheel’s On Fire
    08. Diana Krall – Simple Twist of Fate
    09. Brett Dennen – You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere
    10. Mariachi El Bronx – Love Sick
    11. Ziggy Marley – Blowin’ in the Wind
    12. The Gaslight Anthem – Changing of the Guards
    13. Silversun Pickups – Not Dark Yet
    14. My Morning Jacket – You’re A Big Girl Now
    15. The Airborne Toxic Event – Boots of Spanish Leather
    16. Sting – Girl from the North Country
    17. Mark Knopfler – Restless Farewell

    Disc 2
    01. Queens Of The Stone Age – Outlaw Blues
    02. Lenny Kravitz – Rainy Day Woman # 12 & 35
    03. Steve Earle & Lucia Micarelli – One More Cup of Coffee (Valley Below)
    04. Blake Mills – Heart Of Mine
    05. Miley Cyrus – You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go
    06. Billy Bragg – Lay Down Your Weary Tune
    07. Elvis Costello – License to Kill
    08. Angelique Kidjo – Lay, Lady, Lay
    09. Natasha Bedingfield – Ring Them Bells
    10. Jackson Browne – Love Minus Zero/No Limit
    11. Joan Baez – Seven Curses (Live)
    12. The Belle Brigade – No Time To Think
    13. Sugarland – Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You (Live)
    14. Jack’s Mannequin – Mr. Tambourine Man
    15. Oren Lavie – 4th Time Around
    16. Sussan Deyhim – All I Really Want To Do
    17. Adele – Make You Feel My Love (Recorded Live at WXPN)

    Disc 3
    01. K’NAAN – With God On Our Side
    02. Ximena Sariñana – I Want You
    03. Neil Finn with Pajama Club – She Belongs to Me
    04. Bryan Ferry – Bob Dylan’s Dream
    05. Zee Avi – Tomorrow Is A Long Time
    06. Carly Simon – Just Like a Woman
    07. Flogging Molly – The Times They Are A-Changin’
    08. Fistful Of Mercy – Buckets Of Rain
    09. Joe Perry – Man Of Peace
    10. Bad Religion – It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue
    11. My Chemical Romance – Desolation Row (Live)
    12. RedOne featuring Nabil Khayat – Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door
    13. Paul Rodgers & Nils Lofgren – Abandoned Love
    14. Darren Criss featuring Chuck Criss and Freelance Whales – New Morning
    15. Cage the Elephant – The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll
    16. Band of Skulls – It Ain’t Me, Babe
    17. Sinéad O’Connor – Property of Jesus
    18. Ed Roland and The Sweet Tea Project – Shelter From The Storm
    19. Ke$ha – Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
    20. Kronos Quartet – Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right

    Disc 4
    01. Maroon 5 – I Shall Be Released
    02. Carolina Chocolate Drops – Political World
    03. Seal & Jeff Beck – Like A Rolling Stone
    04. Taj Mahal – Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream
    05. Dierks Bentley – Senor (Tales of Yankee Power) (Live)
    06. Mick Hucknall – One Of Us Must Know (Sooner Or Later)
    07. Thea Gilmore – I’ll Remember You
    08. State Radio – John Brown
    09. Dave Matthews Band – All Along the Watchtower (Live)
    10. Michael Franti – Subterranean Homesick Blues
    11. We Are Augustines – Mama, You Been On My Mind
    12. Lucinda Williams – Tryin’ To Get To Heaven
    13. Kris Kristofferson – Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)
    14. Eric Burdon – Gotta Serve Somebody
    15. Evan Rachel Wood – I’d Have You Anytime
    16. Marianne Faithfull – Baby Let Me Follow You Down (Live)
    17. Pete Seeger – Forever Young
    18. Bob Dylan – Chimes Of Freedom