• frontpage-logo
  • NYI-homepage-mobile-logo

  • Music legend Paul Anka waited more than 50 years after his last Christmas album to get back in the studio and record a second, and it will hit stores this holiday season.

    Recorded at both the legendary Capitol Studios and Ocean Way Recording Studio in Los Angeles, the album Songs of December will feature eleven holiday classics.

    Among the most familiar tunes are “Silver Bells,” “Silent Night,” “I’ll Be Home For Christmas.”

    The album includes guest arrangements by David Foster, Johnny Mandel, Patrick Williams and Chris Walden and was engineered and mixed by the legendary Al Schmitt.

    Songs Of December Track-List

    1. Let It Snow
    2. Christmas Song
    3. I’ll Be Home For Christmas
    4. Winter Wonderland
    5. It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year
    6. White Christmas
    7. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
    8. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
    9. Blue Christmas
    10. Silver Bells
    11. Silent Night/A Cradle in Bethlehem

    “Music has always filled my home, especially around the holidays, and when the idea of recording these seasonal standards came about, I couldn’t resist,” said Anka, 70, who bills himself the original “teen idol.”

    “I hope that my interpretation of these ‘Yuletide’ chestnuts will fill your home with joy and good cheer,” he added in a statement.

    Anka broke out as a teenager in the late 1950s. He recorded his first single “I Confess” at age 14.

    His career blossomed in the early 1960s with hit songs like “Diana,” “Lonely Boy” and “Put Your Head on My Shoulder.”

    He had a second major career as a songwriter.

    His credits include “The Tonight Show” with Johnny Carson, one of Tom Jones’s biggest hits, “She’s a Lady” and lyrics for Frank Sinatra’s signature song, “My Way.”

    Anka also collaborated with Michael Jackson on his “This Is It” release that was co-written by Anka in 1983.

    The album will be available Nov. 15th on Decca. Pre-order the album now at amazon.com through TheImproper and the $12.91 price is guaranteed. You can also download the album at left.