• frontpage-logo
  • NYI-homepage-mobile-logo

  • Katherine McPhee, Debra Messing and Megan Hilty have hit the ground running in the NBC hit “Smash,” and producers are wasting no time capitalizing on the show with the release of a new soundtrack album.

    The show debuted to stellar ratings in no small part to McPhee’s hot role as an aspiring actress trying to make it big in a Broadway musical. about Marilyn Monroe.

    The show is being executive produced by Steven Spielberg with help from the producers of Broadway hits American Idiot, Chicago, Hairspray and Spring Awakening.

    The Music of Smash Track List

    1) “Touch Me” featuring Katharine McPhee
    2) “Stand” featuring Katharine McPhee and Leslie Odom
    3) “Who You Are” featuring Megan Hilty
    4) “Crazy Dreams” featuring Megan Hilty
    5) “Beautiful” featuring Katharine McPhee
    6) “Haven’t Met You Yet” featuring Nick Jonas
    7) “Shake It Out” featuring Katharine McPhee
    8) “Brighter Than the Sun” featuring Katharine McPhee
    9) “Let Me Be Your Star” featuring Katharine McPhee and Megan Hilty
    10) “20th Century Fox Mambo” featuring Katharine McPhee
    11) “Mr & Mrs Smith” featuring Megan Hilty and Will Chase
    12) “Let’s Be Bad” featuring Megan Hilty
    13) “History Is Made At Night” featuring Megan Hilty & Will Chase

    “Smash” drew the highest rating for any 10 p.m. drama this season among the young adult viewers, according to live-plus same-day figures released today by The Nielsen Co.

    The show averaged 11.44 million viewers, the most for any non-sports program on NBC in the 10-11 p.m. Monday time slot since 2008 when it aired “SNL Presidential Bash ’08.”

    NBC has already re-upped “Smash” for second season. The show airs Mondays at 10 p.m.

    The hour-long series is obviously inspired by the success of Fox’s musical series “Glee.” The show includes staged dance productions much like a theater musical.

    The soundtrack album will include 13 tracks, including original music by Tony and Grammy winners Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman. Other songs are popular Broadway tunes.

    The Music of Smash will be available for preorder on Amazon.com. Click the link above to order your album.